亚洲数字化交易:数字签名逐步取代印章

随着法规的放宽和新技术的出现,纸质文件和印章正逐渐在亚洲各区消失。

This article is also available in English and Japanese.

在审查和采用区域或全球财务的新流程和技术时,了解当地的规范和监管要求至关重要。日本、印度和中国最近的发展为企业司库提供了重新思考和彻底改革其现有体系和流程的机会。

淘汰印章?

新冠疫情加速了各项业务从实体到数字化的转变,使得亚洲各大市场正在经历一场转型。一些长期以来的企业传统,如日本的公司印章,正逐渐被数字签名取代。

企业印章实际上不符合2021年的世界文化。

長谷川真琴, 法国巴黎银行日本交易银行业务主管

在日本,企业文件的底部往往都有一个红色的印章,而不是手写的签名。印章在日语里称作“判子”,是一种独特的雕刻章,并在法律局注册。 企业通常把印章锁在公司的保险柜里,并对使用者规定了严格的程序。“企业印章实际上不符合2021年的世界文化,因为现在大多数人都居家工作,”法国巴黎银行日本交易银行业务主管長谷川真琴说道。

要淘汰印章,日本需要找到替代方案并改造流程。2020年10月,日本首相要求政府要制定计划,从政府文件中去除印章。许多企业也已决定取消实物印章的要求。長谷川真琴就此解释法国巴黎银行如何能够支持其企业客户进行这种转型。她说,第一步是在法律上不需要加盖公司印章的文件中使用数字签名。例如,对于提款申请或贷款展期,带印章的原始文件已经存档,就不再需要盖章。对于其他交易指令,银行还接受电子邮件或电子签名,如贸易融资担保、定期存款和余额确认请求。“这样就减轻了企业司库人员的工作负担,他们不需要到办公室去,是我们为他们提供了的解决方案,” 長谷川真琴评论说。

新冠疫情是变革的催化剂,印章最终可能完全消失。長谷川真琴表示,企业现在应该开始为这种转变做准备。在给亚洲的财务主管的建议中,她说:“企业可以开始跟已经接受电子签名的银行合作,这样,转型会更容易。”

印度拥抱新技术

日本并不是亚洲唯一过往极度依赖人工流程的市场。在新冠疫情的推动下,印度企业司库的工作也日益数字化。法国巴黎银行印度交易银行业务主管Rupa Balsekar对这种转变发表了看法:“此前,一个客户如果一般在做人工交易并还在考虑实施人工交易还是数字交易,今天他们都在向数字解决方案转型” 。“数字化现在是企业司库的三大优先事项。因为他们意识到居家工作的时间可能会一再延长,”她说道。

印度企业司库的工作也随着新冠疫情日益数字化。数字化现在是企业司库的三大优先事项,因为他们意识到居家工作的时间可能会一再延长。

Rupa Balsekar, 法国巴黎银行印度交易银行业务主管

印度是一个受监管的市场,例如,在贸易交易中需要验证许多文件。在过去12个月里,许多客户迅速利用法国巴黎银行开发的在线解决方案“文档交换互通”(DEC),提高验证过程的效率。这个在线平台兼通信工具已经将超过21种贸易交易数字化。企业司库现在可以有效地执行贸易交易,消除了财务过程中的人工操作,以及对文书工作、电子邮件或电话通信的需求。

企业司库也在努力将应收账款对账流程数字化,目前,这通常是一项高度依赖人工的作业。Balsekar评论说,许多企业都在采用虚拟账户解决方案,以识别交易的汇款人。交易量较大的企业可以利用电子发票出示和支付(EIPP)解决方案。利用先进的字符阅读能力,加上人工智能和机器学习,该解决方案可以全天候、全年无休进行自动对账。“这是印度部署的另一项颠覆性解决方案,既认识到公司的需求,又能助力提高运营效率,” Balsekar说道。

印度的这种数字化趋势也符合企业司库的另一个关键优先事项——可持续发展。随着支付系统淘汰大量的纸质文件,对环保也有帮助。

中国的(数字)批准印章

中国是亚洲走上支付数字化之路的另一个市场。“在数字化方面,支付宝和微信支付等本地数字钱包一直领先同业。而现在,已到时候被颠覆的领域是跨境交易,” 法国巴黎银行中国交易银行部总经理张荧解释说。近年来,中国监管机构发布了一些指导方针,以促进人民币的国际流动,其中包括提高跨境支付证明文件的便捷和数字化程度,而现在已经可以提交电子文件。

现在跨境贸易的支付大大简化,通过中国国际贸易单一窗口,企业可以在一个操作系统内提交他们的报关单,并在该流程中淘汰纸质文件。“法国巴黎银行积极投入到这个市场,我们提供最新的技术来帮助企业简化交易,”张荧说道。

我们希望帮助客户顺利推进这一进程,并让其全面审查现金管理设置。我们为客户扮演顾问的角色:采用技术很容易,但重要的是也要对工作流程和过程进行微调。

张荧, 法国巴黎银行中国交易银行部总经理

然而,张荧强调说,这不仅仅是为企业司库提供一个技术工具或产品。“我们希望帮助客户顺利推进这一进程,并让其全面审查现金管理设置。我们为客户扮演顾问的角色:采用技术很容易,但重要的是也要对工作流程和过程进行微调,”她补充说道。

Tech & Innovation

Optimising corporate treasury in India’s new norm

Digitising transactions in Asia: one chop at a time

Paper-based documentation and chops are disappearing across Asia as a result of relaxed regulations and new technologies.

This article is also available in Japanese and Simplified Chinese.

Understanding local practices and regulatory requirements is critical when reviewing and adopting new processes and technology for regional or global treasury. Recent developments in Japan, India and China offer treasurers the opportunity to rethink and overhaul their existing systems and processes.

Stamping out hanko?

As Covid-19 accelerated the shift from physical to digital, various markets in Asia are undergoing a transformation. Longstanding corporate traditions, like the company chop in Japan, are gradually giving way to digital signatures.

The company chop does not actually match the world culture of 2021, where most people are now expected to work from home.

Makoto Hasegawa, Head of Transaction Banking, Japan, BNP Paribas

It is commonplace to find a red stamp, instead of a handwritten signature, at the bottom of corporate documents in Japan. The hanko seal or ‘chop’ is a uniquely carved stamp and registered with the legal bureau.  Corporates usually keep it under lock and key in the company safe, with strict procedures around who is authorised to use it. “The company chop does not actually match the world culture of 2021, where most people are now expected to work from home,” comments Makoto Hasegawa, Head of Transaction Banking, Japan at BNP Paribas.

Japan needed to find alternatives and revamp processes in order to drop the chop. In October 2020, the prime minister told the government to make plans for removing hanko from government documents. Many businesses have also decided to remove the requirement of a physical chop. Hasegawa explains how BNP Paribas was able to support its corporate clients with such a transition. The first step, she says, was to use digital signatures for documents where a company seal was not legally necessary. For example, a withdrawal request, or a loan rollover – where the original paperwork with the seal was already on file – no longer require a stamp. The bank also accepts email or e-signature for other transaction instructions like trade finance guarantees, term deposits and balance confirmation requests. “This made treasurers’ lives easier as they did not need to go into the office – we offered them a solution,” comments Hasegawa.

The pandemic has been a catalyst for change, and the hanko could eventually disappear altogether. Hasegawa says that corporates should start preparing for this shift now. In advice to treasurers in Asia, she says, “I would start working with a bank that already accepts e-signatures so the shift is easier,” she says.

India embraces new technology

Japan is not the only market in Asia that has been heavily reliant on physical processes. The pandemic has also pushed treasurers in India to be more digital. Rupa Balsekar, Head of Transaction Banking, India for BNP Paribas comments on the shift: “If a client had manual transactions and was previously sitting on the fence about whether to be manual or digital, they are now moving into digital solutions,” she says. “Digitisation is now a top three priority for treasurers. They realise that working from home could be extended,” she says.

The pandemic has also pushed treasurers in India to be more digital. Digitisation is now a top three priority for treasurers; they realise that working from home could be extended.

Rupa Balsekar, Head of Transaction Banking, India, BNP Paribas

India is a regulated market where, for example, numerous documents need to be validated in trade transactions. Over the past 12 months, many clients were quick to leverage Document Exchange Connect (DEC), an online solution developed by BNP Paribas, to make this process more efficient. The online platform and communication tool has digitised more than 21 types of trade transaction. Corporate treasurer can now execute trade transactions in an efficient manner, removing manual work from the process, along with the need for paperwork, emails or phone calls.

Corporate treasurers are also looking to digitalise the receivables reconciliation process, which is usually highly manual. Balsekar comments that virtual account solution is now adopted by many corporates to help identify remitters of transactions. Businesses with higher transaction volumes can leverage the Electronic Invoice Presentment and Payment (EIPP) solution. Using advanced character reading (ACR) capabilities, coupled with AI and machine learning, EIPP & automates reconciliation on a 24x7x365 basis.  “This is another game changer that has been put in place in India by recognising companies’ needs and supporting operational efficiency,” says Balsekar.

This digitisation trend in India is also in line with another key priority for treasurers – sustainability – as reams of paper are removed from the system, which in turn helps the environment. 

China’s (digital) seal of approval

China is another market in Asia that has been on a journey with the digitisation of its payments. “Local digital wallets like AliPay and WeChat Pay have been ahead of the pack when it comes to digitisation. And now, the area that is ripe for disruption, is cross-border transactions,” explains Louise Zhang, Head of Transaction Banking, China at BNP Paribas. In recent years, Chinese regulators have issued a few guidelines in order to facilitate the flow of renminbi internationally. This has also involved simpler, more digitalised processes for the supporting documents for cross-border payments, which can now be submitted in electronic format.

Payments for cross-border trade are now far more streamlined as well, through the China International Trade Single Window, companies can submit their customs declarations within one operating system and remove paper from the process. “BNP Paribas is very committed to this market, and we are offering the latest technology to help companies streamline their transactions,” says Zhang.

BNP Paribas helps clients navigate the digital journey and do the entire review of their cash management set-up. We play an advisory role for our clients – it is easy to adopt technology, but it is important that the workflow and the process are also fine-tuned.

Louise Zhang, Head of Transaction Banking, China, BNP Paribas

Zhang emphasises, however, that it is not just to provide a technical tool or product to the treasurers.   “We want to help clients navigate this journey and do the entire review of their cash management set-up. We play an advisory role for our clients – it is easy to adopt technology, but it is important that the workflow and the process are also fine-tuned,” she adds.

Tech & Innovation

Optimising corporate treasury in India’s new norm