屋顶分布式光伏:支持中国的能源转型

法国道达尔能源公司和远景能源公司的合资公司——道达尔远景(TEESS)完成了一项具有里程碑意义的绿色贷款,这是中国可再生能源领域首笔国际无追索项目融资。

This article is also available in English.

法国能源公司道达尔能源和中国可再生能源公司远景能源的合资公司道达尔远景,将利用法国巴黎银行牵头的这笔无追索项目融资交易的款项,致力于170兆瓦的屋顶分布式光伏项目,进一步推动中国的可再生能源转型。

可再生能源是中国脱碳议程中的战略重点。作为目前全球最大的温室气体排放国,中国于去年9月承诺,将在2030年达到排放峰值,并在2060年实现净零排放,在全球应对气候变化的行动中发挥主导作用。中国的目标是将风能和太阳能的总装机容量从2020年底的534吉瓦增加到1200吉瓦。这是习近平主席于2020年12月在为期一天的线上联合国气候变化峰会上作出的承诺。

示范交易

这是中国可再生能源领域的第一笔国际无追索-绿色项目融资,也是第一个获得可持续发展专家第二方意见的此类项目。

 “法国巴黎银行通过促成这项重大基石交易,展示了促进中国分布式光伏行业清洁能源融资发展的坚定承诺,”道达尔远景首席执行官孙捷说道。“我们希望在首次交易的基础上,今后继续与法国巴黎银行深化合作。”

法国巴黎银行通过促成这项重大基石交易,展示了促进中国分布式光伏行业清洁能源融资发展的坚定承诺。

道达尔远景首席执行官孙捷

此次项目中,法国巴黎银行担任结构设计行、委任牵头安排行、绿色贷款共同协调行、贷款代理行和担保代理行、账户行和初始对冲提供行。作为结构设计行,法国巴黎银行在协助项目发起人量身定制融资结构, 并在整个项目融资中担任基石银行方面发挥了重要作用。

这笔贷款将专门用于开发分布式光伏发电项目。道达尔远景承诺遵循最佳信息披露做法,每年报告项目节省的温室气体排放量、生产的可再生能源瓦数,以及为工业设施供电的细节。

关于这笔绿色贷款的第二方意见,以及道达尔远景提供年度影响报告的承诺,均符合最佳市场惯例。绿色融资可以为中国的净零排放目标提供强大的资金来源,这两个要素也提高了绿色融资的透明度。

法国巴黎银行亚太区全球银行业务可持续金融主管 Noemie Peiffer

法国巴黎银行亚太区全球银行业务可持续金融主管Noemie Peiffer表示:“关于这笔绿色贷款的第二方意见,以及道达尔远景提供年度影响报告的承诺,均符合最佳市场惯例。绿色融资可以为中国的净零排放目标提供强大的资金来源,这两个要素也提高了绿色融资的透明度。”

分布式发电模式聚集小型分布式太阳能设施的发电量,并将这些设施与当地公用电网联网。在道达尔远景的分布式太阳能项目中,大部分电力就地消费,多余的电力则出售给当地的电网公司。根据2006年颁布的《可再生能源法》,电网公司有义务购买可再生能源设施产生的电力。分布式发电基础设施还能增强系统的韧性,缓解当地电力供需赤字,并创造新的投资机会。

法国巴黎银行亚太区贷款及专业融资部联席主管Shalen Shivpuri表示:“分布式光伏项目一般在个体上规模较小,因此单体逐个进行融资的成本偏高。在这个项目上,法巴成功地提供了一种创新模式,为分布式光伏整体项目打包通过无追索的方式进行融资。这个项目有望为在中国进一步融资此类项目铺平道路。”

在这个项目上,法巴成功地提供了一种创新模式,为分布式光伏整体项目打包通过无追索的方式进行融资。这个项目有望为在中国进一步融资此类项目铺平道路。

法国巴黎银行亚太区贷款及专业融资部联席主管 Shalen Shivpuri

携手合作

道达尔远景由道达尔能源公司和远景能源公司于2019年成立。自成立以来,在不到两年的时间里,该合资公司目前在运营的装机容量达140兆瓦,已跻身中国分布式太阳能发电头部企业行列。该公司为工商业客户提供可再生电力解决方案,帮助工商业企业客户实现脱碳目标,并将道达尔能源公司的全球实力和专业知识与中国创新型可再生能源公司远景能源的资源相结合。为了引领中国分布式光伏领域的创新,该公司还投资于数字化,以及太阳能和表后储能解决方案的试点项目。其目标是进一步扩大自身在提供低碳能源解决方案方面的影响力,成为中国分布式光伏领域最大的服务供应商之一,并力争到2022年底使装机容量超过500兆瓦。

这种交易为项目的成功提供了一个良好的模式,并可能进一步激发国际公司与本地公司联手合作,支持中国的能源转型政策目标。

法国巴黎银行亚太区贷款和专业融资部董事田芳在北京

法国巴黎银行亚太区贷款和专业融资部董事田芳在北京表示:“这种交易为项目的成功提供了一个良好的模式,并可能进一步激发国际公司与本地公司联手合作,支持中国的能源转型政策目标。它结合了国际公司在海外市场开发类似项目的经验和专业知识,以及本地公司对国内框架体系和技术的深刻了解。这种结合是成功的关键因素。”  

Suggested reading
cib_Asia march to net zero

Asia’s march to net-zero

Pledges from Korea, Japan and China to slash their emissions see the region positioned as a climate leader. But how will a net-zero Asia meet its energy needs as a greener future takes shape?

From the rooftops: supporting China’s energy transition

TEESS, a TotalEnergies and Envision JV, has closed a landmark green loan, the first international non-recourse project financing in China’s renewable sector.

This article is also available in Simplified Chinese.

TEESS, a joint venture (JV) between French energy company TotalEnergies and Chinese renewables company Envision Energy, will use the proceeds of this non-recourse project finance deal led by BNP Paribas in relation to a 170MW rooftop solar portfolio, in a further push to help China’s transition to renewable energy.

Renewable energy is a strategic priority under China’s decarbonisation agenda. The world’s largest greenhouse gas (GHG) emitter pledged last September that the country’s carbon emissions would peak in 2030 and reach net-zero by 2060, taking a leading role in the global drive to combat climate change. China aims to increase total installed wind and solar capacity to 1,200 gigawatt (GW), up from 534GW at the end of 2020. This was committed by President Xi Jinping in a one-day virtual U.N. climate change summit in December 2020.

A model transaction

This is the first international non-recourse green project financing in China’s renewable sector, and the first such project to receive a second-party opinion from a sustainability expert.

“In facilitating this remarkable, cornerstone transaction, BNP Paribas have demonstrated their commitment to the development of clean energy financing in the China DG solar sector,” said Alex Sun, CEO of TEESS. “We hope to build upon this debut transaction and continue our in-depth cooperation with BNPP in the future.”

In facilitating this remarkable, cornerstone transaction, BNP Paribas have demonstrated their commitment to the development of clean energy financing in the China DG solar sector.

Alex Sun, CEO, TEESS

BNP Paribas acted as Structuring Bank, Mandated Lead Arranger, Joint Green Loan Coordinator, Facility Agent and Security Agent, Account Bank and Original Hedging Provider. Specifically as Structuring Bank, BNP Paribas played an instrumental role in assisting the Sponsors to design the tailor-made financing structure and acting as the anchor bank for the overall project financing.

The proceeds of the loan are earmarked for the development of the distributed solar projects and the JV is committed to follow the best disclosure practices by reporting annually on the projects’ savings in GHG emissions, the amount of renewable energy produced, and details of the industrial facilities it is powering.

The second party opinion on the green loan and TEESS’ commitment to provide annual impact reporting are in line with best market practices, they add transparency in green funding as a powerful source of funding to finance China’s net-zero ambitions.

Noemie Peiffer, Head of Sustainable Finance, Global Banking APAC, BNP Paribas

“The second party opinion on the green loan and TEESS’ commitment to provide annual impact reporting are in line with best market practices, they add transparency in green funding as a powerful source of funding to finance China’s net-zero ambitions,” said Noemie Peiffer, Head of Sustainable Finance, Global Banking APAC at BNP Paribas.

The DG model aggregates generation from small, distributed solar facilities which are connected to the local utility grid. Among the JV’s distributed solar projects, much of the electricity is consumed on-site, with any excess sold to local distribution utilities, which are obliged under the 2006 Renewable Energy Law to purchase all energy generated from renewable sources. DG infrastructure also bolsters system resilience, alleviates local supply-demand deficits and creates new investment opportunities. 

“Although rooftop solar projects tend to be individually small-scale and therefore uneconomical to finance separately, in this case we were able to offer an innovative structure to fund this portfolio of rooftop solar projects on a non-recourse basis. This deal is expected to pave the way for financing further such projects in China and in Asia Pacific,” said Shalen Shivpuri, Co-Head of Loans and Specialised Finance, APAC at BNP Paribas.

We were able to offer an innovative structure to fund this portfolio of rooftop solar projects on a non-recourse basis. This deal is expected to pave the way for financing further such projects in China and in Asia Pacific.

Shalen Shivpuri, Co-Head of Loans and Specialised Finance, APAC, BNP Paribas

Joining forces

TEESS was established in 2019 by TotalEnergies and Envision. In less than two years since the launch of its commercial activity, the JV has currently 140 MW in operation, and is ranked among China’s tier-one companies providing solar distributed generation. TEESS develops on-site renewable power solutions for industrial and commercial customers to fulfill their decarbonation goals, and combines the global strength and expertise of TotalEnergies with an innovative Chinese renewable company Envision.  To lead innovation in the DG solar sector in China, TEESS also invests in digitisation, as well as in pilot projects on solar and behind-the-meter energy storage solutions. The JV aims to further expand its footprint in providing low-carbon energy solutions to become one of China’s largest service providers of the distributed solar sector, and targets over 500 MW of installed capacity by end 2022.

Deals of this kind provide a good model for project success and could spark a trend for external developers to join forces with local experts in support of China’s energy transition policy goals.

Fang Tian, Director of Loans and Specialised Finance, APAC, BNP Paribas

“Deals of this kind provide a good model for project success and could spark a trend for external developers to join forces with local experts in support of China’s energy transition policy goals. It combines both foreign sponsors’ experience and expertise in developing similar projects in overseas markets, with the local sponsors’ deep knowledge of domestic framework and know-how. This combination is a key success factor,” said Fang Tian, Director of Loans and Specialised Finance, APAC at BNP Paribas in Beijing.

Suggested reading
cib_Asia march to net zero

Asia’s march to net-zero

Pledges from Korea, Japan and China to slash their emissions see the region positioned as a climate leader. But how will a net-zero Asia meet its energy needs as a greener future takes shape?