亞洲向淨零排放進發

韓國、日本與中國相繼承諾減少碳排放,反映了亞洲作為氣候領導者的定位。 然而綠色未來萌生之際,以淨零碳排為目標的亞洲將如何滿足其能源需求?

This article is also available in English, Simplified Chinese and Korean.

日本新首相菅義偉近日宣布,日本已定下在2050年之前達致淨零碳排的目標,根據該目標,日本將生產更多的可再生能源。自日本宣佈淨零碳排計劃後,中國與韓國亦相繼作出類似承諾,並積極採取行動以從燃煤發電過渡至可再生能源。

鑑於亞洲的碳排放量高於世界上其他任何區域,來自這三個最重要經濟體的及時承諾,或許標誌著控制全球暖化的轉折點。然而,要實現淨零碳排,亦意味此等國家在融資及開發可再生或替代能源方面,將面臨一連串的新挑戰。

亞洲的人口增長及中產階級的崛起,意味能源需求將史無前例地倍增。要達致減少溫室氣體排放並同時滿足其不斷增長的電力需求,亞洲必須採用可再生能源。而能源的「脫碳」,將需要政府的支持與龐大的長期投資。

能滿足亞洲新能源需求的可再生能源主要有哪些類型,各國又將如何為綠色未來的過渡提供資金?

太陽熱能

談及亞洲的可再生能源,太陽能的領導地位實在不容置疑。據彭博估計,中國是世界上最大的太陽能生產國,每年產量約為193吉瓦(GW)。 同時,印度亦希望在2030年之前將可再生能源產量提升至450吉瓦,其現有的可再生能源裝置總容量為370吉瓦.



有分析指,太陽能將繼續成為滿足可再生能源目標最具成本效益的方案,而大規模的太陽能農場正陸續在亞洲各地興建。

法國巴黎銀行亞太區電力與專案融資主管Bruce Weller表示:「太陽能的價格日趨便宜,尤其於過去十年其成本曲線大幅下降。」他又透露,建造太陽能發電廠相對簡單,材料已大批量生產且供應量充足,而技術亦成熟並安全。

“要達致減少溫室氣體排放並同時滿足其不斷增長的電力需求,亞洲必須採用可再生能源。而能源的「脫碳」,將需要政府的支持與龐大的長期投資”


太陽能行業的融資模式亦正在改變。 傳統上該融資模式應納入項目融資領域內,但隨着太陽能市場在亞洲發展較成熟,將可如較發達市場中的太陽能行業般利用證券化模式融資。 例如在美國,私人物業對太陽能裝置的趨之若鶩,創造了一個蓬勃的太陽能資產證券化市場。

「當行業在亞洲達到一定規模,新的融資渠道將打開。在項目層面上,銀行融資或許仍佔上風;但當太陽能企業能證明其實力,繼而接近或達到投資級別,它們便能夠借助資本市場融資。」Bruce補充。

生產太陽能的其中一大挑戰,是尋找安裝太陽能板的土地。 對於香港與新加坡等高度城市化的地區來說,太陽能並不是最有效的方案,然而政府正積極探索於近岸安裝或利用垂直太陽能裝置等其他選擇。

 

離岸風電

對離岸風電場投資而言,亞洲或許是最令人雀躍的市場,這地區漫長的海岸線,以及各地政府的政策支持,意味這個行業的前途將一片光明。



Bruce透露:「離岸風力發電適合亞洲的發達市場,因為這些地區人煙稠密且山多,難以興建陸上風電場,但這些市場有經濟能力隨著市場發展以吸收並減低離岸風力發電的成本。」

根據全球風能理事會(GWEC)的數據,去年全球離岸風電裝置容量破紀錄達6.1 GW,其中2.5 GW位於亞太地區。台灣一直屬亞洲的先驅,於2019年更引入外地專家將其首個大型離岸風電項目與電網連接。台灣雄心壯志的計劃,包括在2025年前將離岸風電裝置容量增至5.6吉瓦,並在2026年至2035年期間,將離岸風電裝置容量再提升10吉瓦。3法國巴黎銀行曾兩次為首屈一指的可再生能源公司沃旭能源擔任綠色融資顧問及聯席牽頭經辦人,協助該公司發行新台幣計價的綠色債券,為其離岸風電項目提供資金。

‘ “法國巴黎銀行亞太區電力與專案融資主管Bruce Weller透露:「離岸風力發電適合亞洲的發達市場,因為這些地區人煙稠密且山多,難以興建陸上風電場,但這些有經濟能力隨著市場發展以吸收並減低離岸風力發電的成本。」”



Bruce稱道:「離岸風電發展取決於兩個因素:政府的支持及能源價格。有政策支持以及更具成本效益的技術方案,產能效益的提升將降低單位格價,從而令風力發電變成越趨可行的方案。」

雖然日本繁複的牌照及許可制度減慢了進展,但日本政府亦完成興建四個離岸風電場,並於7月舉行了首個離岸風電場拍賣。日本政府的目標是在2030年前,利用可再生能源滿足全國22%至24%的能源需求。因此,預計日本將在這十年內安裝容量達7.4吉瓦的離岸風電裝置,並有相關的資金需求。

水,處處皆是

亞洲的水力發電一直領導國際, 2018年的產量佔全球水力發電總量約42%。以東南亞為例,該地區的水電產量自2000年以來飊升四倍,當中以老撾、印尼及越南的項目為首。



儘管源自堤壩項目的大規模遷徙居民,以至對環境生態的破壞不時引起爭議,但水力發電仍很可能繼續成為亞洲可再生能源組合中重大的一環。國際能源機構估計,為了實現《巴黎協定》中將全球平均氣溫升幅控制在2℃之內的承諾,全球需要將水力發電量進一步增加800吉瓦。

隨著其專業知識的增長及問題的急切性,亞洲可透過建立促進可再生能源潛力的政策框架,以捕捉加快碳轉型的機會。

Asia’s march to net-zero

Pledges from Korea, Japan and China to slash their emissions see the region positioned as a climate leader. But how will a net-zero Asia meet its energy needs as a greener future takes shape?

This article is also available in Korean, Simplified Chinese and Traditional Chinese.

Japan’s new Prime Minister, Yoshihide Suga, recently announced that the country has set a net-zero emissions target for 2050, under which the archipelago state will need to produce a lot more of its energy from renewable sources. The announcement follows similar pledges from China and Korea this year, where moves are also underway to transition away from coal-fired power generation. 

The closely timed commitments from three of Asia’s most significant economies could mark a turning point in the battle to control climate heating, given the region accounts for more emissions than any other continent. But achieving net-zero emissions will mean taking on a new set of challenges when it comes to financing and developing renewable [or alternative] energy sources.

Asia’s growing population and rising middle class will require more energy than ever before. Asia must embrace renewable alternatives, if it is to meet its growing electricity demand while reducing greenhouse gas emissions. The ‘decarbonisation’ of energy will require government support, and significant long-term investments.

What are the main types of renewable power that will fuel Asia’s new energy needs, and how will countries finance the transition?


Solar heats up

When it comes to renewable energy in Asia, solar power is an undisputed leader. In fact, China is the world’s largest solar power producer, with around 193 gigawatts (GW) a year, according to Bloomberg estimates. Meanwhile India wants to produce 450 GW from renewables by 2030, against a current total installed capacity of 370 GW. 



Huge solar farms are popping up all over Asia, as analysis shows solar energy will continue to be the most cost-effective way to meet renewable energy targets.  

“Solar has become much cheaper, and particularly in the last ten years the cost curve has been driven down dramatically,” says Bruce Weller, Head of Power and Project Finance, Asia Pacific, BNP Paribas. He adds that solar plants are relatively simple to build, materials are mass-produced and readily available, and the technology is well-established and safe.

Asia must embrace renewable alternatives, if it is to meet its growing electricity demand while reducing greenhouse gas emissions. The ‘decarbonisation’ of energy will require government support, and significant long-term investments.


The funding model for solar is also changing. While traditionally within the domain of project finance, a more mature solar market in Asia could lend itself to a securitization model, similar to how the industry is funded in more developed markets. In the United States, for example, a boom in private rooftop solar has created a vibrant solar asset-backed securities market.

“Once the industry reaches a critical mass in Asia, new avenues of funding will open up. At the project level, bank financing will likely still prevail. But once companies prove themselves and approach or become investment-grade, they will be able to access capital markets,” says Bruce.

One of the biggest challenges of solar is finding the land to install solar panels. Solar power is not the answer for highly urbanised places like Hong Kong and Singapore, however governments are exploring other options with near-shore and vertical solar installations.  

Offshore wind power

Asia holds potentially the most exciting markets for windfarm investments: its long coastlines and increasingly favourable government policies in a number of markets suggest a bright future.  



“Wind makes a lot of sense, especially for developed markets in Asia,” says Bruce. “These are often too densely populated and mountainous for onshore wind farms and have the economic capacity to absorb the cost as the market develops and drives costs down.”

According to the Global Wind Energy Council (GWEC), total global offshore power installation last year was a record 6.1 GW, of which 2.5 GW was in Asia Pacific. Taiwan has been a pioneer in the region, bringing in international expertise to connect its first large-scale offshore wind project to the grid in 2019. Its ambitious plans will see 5.6 GW of energy capacity from this source to be installed by 2025 and a further 10 GW is planned between 2026 and 2035. BNP Paribas acted twice as the Green Advisor and Joint Lead Manager for Ørsted, a leading renewable energy company, to issue Taiwan Dollar Denominated Green Bond to fund its offshore wind projects in Taiwan.

“Developing offshore wind power depends on two factors: government support and energy pricing,” adds Bruce. With policy support in place and more cost efficient technical solutions available, Bruce points out, increased capacity will drive down per-unit pricing and render wind power increasingly viable.

While Japan’s complex system of licensing and permissions has slowed progress, its government created four offshore wind zones and held its first offshore wind auction in July. The government has set a target of meeting 22-24% of Japan’s power needs with renewable energy by 2030. As a result, Japan is expected to install 7.4 GW this decade with an associated funding requirement.

Water, water everywhere

Asia has been a world leader in hydropower production, accounting for nearly 42% of the world’s hydroelectricity production in 2018. Looking at Southeast Asia specifically, the region has quadrupled its hydropower output since 2000, led by projects in Laos, Indonesia and Vietnam.



Despite the controversies that dam projects generate, from mass resettlement of people to destruction of local environmental ecosystems, hydropower will likely continue to form a significant part of the region’s renewable energy mix. The International Energy Agency estimates that to meet the two-degree commitment of the Paris Agreement, the world will need to add an extra 800 GW of hydropower.

With growing expertise and an imperative to act, Asia has a clear opportunity to accelerate its carbon transition by creating policy frameworks that foster the potential of renewable energy.